Rules Questions / FAQ

Do you have a rule question about Foretold: Rise of a God?  If so, post it as a Facebook comment on the main page by clicking here.  Jay will answer the question as soon as possible – and then post the combined questions to a FAQ we will be collating.

To view the rules document as a PDF, click here.

Starting the Game:

Q: What do I do with my unused extra High Priest(s), Acolytes and Guards in a 2 or 3 player game?

A: Those Faithful are left outside the game and do not get used.  Similarly, the Starting Temple Tiles are not added to the Tile Deck and remain outside the game.

Q: Can I use my Starting Faithful on the first turn?

A: Yes, those Faithful (1 High Priest, 2 Guards and 1 Acolyte) are part of your Temple now, and you can use them to collect 5 gold on your first Marketplace Step.

Marketplace

Q: If I return a Fate Relic to the Marketplace (because I have a Wisdom Relic and want to switch to Chaos, for example), what do I do with the Wisdom Relic I’m returning?

A: Return it to any spot in the Marketplace.  If there is an empty spot, place it there. If not, cover another Relic.    If you have 2 Wisdom Relics, for example, and you acquire or buy 1 Chaos Relic, return both Wisdom Relics at the same time, then acquire the Chaos Relic to your Temple.

Returning Promotional Relics

For players with the Promotional Kickstarter Relics (Golden Owl, Sword of Peleus, Horn of Plenty, Omphalos): Because these 4 Relics require Altars, similarly to Fate Relics, they can also be returned to the Marketplace if desired, to make room for Fate Relics (or a different promo Relic)

Combat

Q:  Can my Raiding Party steal gold from a player’s Treasury Tile if I land on it?  Why is it there, if not?

A: After extensive testing, we found that the ability to Raid players’ Treasuries for extra gold was mostly a novelty, but if you want to do so, add this house rule:  If a Raiding Party Marker is on a Tile with Gold, its controller may discard 1 Faithful from the Raiding Party for each gold that player wishes to steal.  Discarded Faithful return on the Reinforce Step as usual.   Note: The Defending Player may still respond to the Raiding Party moving onto the Treasury Tile by spending money (for example, to play a Prosperity Card requiring a gold cost, or to Flip over a Tile).

Q: If I play a Fate Card such as Sharpen, which says “Gain +3” (with the +3 Combat Bonus symbol), how long does this Combat Bonus last?

A: The Combat Bonus is given only once, and only for the current battle on whichever Tile happens to have the Raiding Party Marker during the Raid.  Combat Bonuses can be thought of as 1-time buffs for a player which add to the Combat Roll’s total – it isn’t applied to each Faithful in battle on your side unless the card says so (Wisdom’s Fate Card Innervate, for example).

Combat Bonuses are always added to the current Combat Roll Total, and then are gone, unless a card explicitly states that you get to keep the bonus “until end of Raid” (again, example: Innervate).

Temple and Temple Tiles

 Q: Can I return Tiles I don’t want anymore to the Tile Deck if I buy a new one?  How am I supposed to get 4 Altars otherwise?

A: Ordinarily you cannot return Tiles back to the Tile Deck.  However, there are a number of Fate Cards that allow you to return face-up Trap Tiles, or other purchased Tiles to the deck – and for a bonus on top of that!   Getting a large Temple is a challenge. The Mason is the best Faithful to help you achieve this: and Wisdom and Prosperity are the best 2 decks to use to achieve that large Temple – but you may not always make it to 16 or even get 4 Altars – that does take a bit of extra luck, skill and planning!  (you can play with a variant that allows you to return them for 3 gold – see Variants page)

Q: Can you clarify how Temple Tiles can be arranged or rotated?

A: Yes, in the Marketplace section of the rules book, I note that Tiles can be rotated (as in turned sideways to their text orientation) in any direction in order to make them fit within that 4×4 grid limitation.  This means that you could turn your Heart Tile sideways, for example, and attach it to one of those side doors in your Temple!  Once your Temple gets really packed, if you choose to buy a bunch of Tiles, you can also have a Doorway from one Tile pressed against a Wall of another Tile as long as you meet the game’s core requirements for Tiles: There must always be a Pathway from that Tile to the Entrance tile, and it cannot completely block off any other Tile from a Raiding Party.

Separating Faithful: Raiding Party and Temple Hands

Q: Am I able to keep my Raiding Party Faithful and my Temple Faithful a secret?

A: Yes, when you separate your Faithful at the end of turn’s Reinforce Step, you place them into your 2 piles face-down.  However, you have to still mark the Raiding Party Faithful pile with the Raiding Party Marker (the little cut out of a Faithful that sticks into a base).  The Temple Faithful sit in front of you unmarked by anything.  Players can also ask you how many Faithful you have in your Temple (Remember: your limit to the number of Faithful you can put in that pile is determined by the number of blue Station Symbols on the Tiles in your Temple!) to make sure you’re not cheating.  Or, players can ask how many Faithful are in your Raiding Party just in case they sense a war coming next turn!

Card Specific Questions:

Recruiter:  Recruiter only allows for 1 of the Faithful you buy during a turn to be placed in the Raiding Party.  Multiple Recruiters will stack abilities, however, to allow an additional Faithful to go directly into the Raiding Party for each additional Recruiter played.

Retainer: The Retainer states that he cannot be discarded from Combat. This ability applies when certain Fate Cards tell the opponent to discard a Faithful from Combat.  If the Retainer is defeated in a fight, say, while defending, he does not return to the owner’s hand at end of combat to defend again on the next Tile – he’s placed in the Defending player’s temporary discard pile along with other defeated Faithful until the end of turn.

Financial Accord: (Prosperity Fate Card) – this card will not end a Raid if played during a Raid.  If you want avoid someone Raiding you with it, the last chance you have is when that person declares their intent to Raid you.  You may respond by paying them 3 gold and announcing the accord.  That player then has the opportunity to declare intent to Raid a different player instead.

Devotee: is a specific type of Faithful Card.  He’s the guy on the box, costs 2 gold, etc.  It’s the only one you can sacrifice to activate a Shrine Fate Relic’s secondary ability.  If a Faithful in your Discard Pile is sacrificed, place it on the bottom of the Faithful Deck when you resolve the Shrine (or other Fate card, etc)’s ability.    Devotees collect a cumulative amount of gold.  The first one played in a turn would collect only 1 gold, the second played would collect 2, then 3 and so on.  However, if you play an Acolyte from your hand, buy a Devotee in the Marketplace for 2 and place it in your Discard Pile, then play a Devotee from your Temple Hand, that Devotee would collect 2 gold! It’s a neat little trick.